Help with Embedded Design: Push Buttons & 7 Segment Displays

• Thread starter Ian_Brooks
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Design
In summary, the conversation discusses a project involving developing a microcontroller code that takes inputs from push buttons and displays the output on 3 7-segment displays. It also mentions using a fixed binary number to communicate with another microcontroller or for internal use. The poster plans to use C and convert it into assembly using the ctoasm function. They also provide a rough pseudo code and discuss the need for defining push button addresses and output ports. They also mention the possibility of using an interface chip for driving the displays and suggest different microcontrollers depending on the number needed.
Ian_Brooks

Homework Statement

I'm very new to embedded design and wanted to develop a micro controller code that

*takes 3 inputs from 3 push buttons
- hundreds, tens, ones respectively
* displays the output on 3 7segment displays
* outputs a fixed binary number to another microcontroller / or perhaps use it for another aspect inside the microcontroller.

Homework Equations

None that I know of.
I'll most likely program it in C and use the ctoasm function to convert it into assembly

The Attempt at a Solution

This is the design I'm hoping for.
http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/9088/sampledesigndv7.gif [Broken]

rough pseudo code for now

Code:
int hundreds, tens, ones;

boolean set = 0; // when pressed the final value is calculated and stored
boolean input1 = 0;
boolean input2 = 0;
boolean input3 = 0;

while (set != 1) {
  if (input1 == 1){
    BCDOUT_1(hundreds++);
  }
  else if (input2 == 1){
   BCDOUT_2(tens++); 
  }
  else if (input3 == 1){
   BCDOUT_3(ones++);
  }

}//end while - loop ends when set = 1

finalVal = (100*hundreds) + (10*tens) + ones;

things to include:
i'll have to #define the push button addresses
in the main code I'll have to define the output ports as