Seeking undergrad advice for physics/chem/biochem

• Thread starter ezec
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Undergrad
In summary, the speaker is interested in pursuing a career in research in the field of spectroscopy of proteins, but wants to avoid a triple major. They plan to learn Quantum Mechanics in their free time and are seeking advice on the necessary math skills for this pursuit. The plan is feasible, but a solid understanding of linear algebra and calculus is necessary, with the possibility of also learning probability and analysis.
ezec
I've been certain for the last couple years that I wish to pursue a career in research. I'm interested in the spectroscopy of proteins as a means of understanding biological mechanisms. The problem is that I would like to avoid a triple major if possible. Currently, I'm a community college student getting ready to transfer.

I thought of my general chem classes like a sort of Feynman physics lectures, a dumbed down physics class that offered unique insight in other perspectives and applications. In the same light, I would like to enter upper division chem classes (like physical chemistry) with, first, a good understanding of intro Quantum Mechanics.

If I double major biochem/neuroscience, then I need to learn the physics by myself.

My plan for the next year (during free time):

[1] "Quantum Physics of Atoms, Molecules, Solids, Nuclei, and Particles" Eisberg and Resnick
+Schaums

[2] "Introduction to Quantum Mechanics" Griffiths
+Schaums

Is this plan feasible? I will only have taken a combined intro Linear Algebra/Differential equations class by the time I begin Griffiths QM book.
How important are an understanding of Lagrangian/Hamiltonian Mechanics to QM?
What math do I need, in what order, and which can be learned concurrently? Vector Calc, ODE/PDE, Linear Algebra, probability, analysis?

Any help or advice is appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org