Runge Kutta Script | C++ | Beginner

In summary, the conversation discusses the challenges and limitations of using the Runge-Kutta method to find exact solutions for differential equations. The speaker also shares their struggles with using the C++ programming language and the compiler Dev CPP. They mention a workaround for a limitation on the array size, but acknowledge that it results in a loss of precision. The conversation also includes several questions about using scanf and fprintf/printf for long doubles and integrating functions. The expert recommends using a more advanced algorithm and suggests checking out the Numerical Recipe website for resources and methods for solving ODEs.
okkvlt
Hi. I am working on a runge kutta/integral finder. my goal is to make it "exact to the dx", so to speak.
im a beginner at c++, so bear with me.
the compiler I am using is dev cpp, incase it matters.

my main problem was that apparently i can't have a long double array of size greater than 160,000. this would limit me to an x array of 80k and a y array of 80k. (meaning i could only do 80k iterations of runge kutta). i worked around this by making an x and y array of 40k entries each, and then subdividing each increment into a maximum of 40k entries, giving me the maximum of up to 1.6billion runge kutta iterations. (although 40million works fine, and i don't feel like waiting several hours for my POS 1.3ghz computer to do 1.6 billion runge kutta iterations). the only drawback is that after each completion of an interval the fine-precision of the subintervals is lost, i worked around this for the print f[x] and definite integral part, but its kind of messy.

Some questions:
how do i use scanf to declare the function to be integrated/solved? it would be real nice if i could do this in the command prompt window, instead of having to go into the compiler and edit the program.