Stuck on a Water Tower Pressure Problem: Dynamic or Static?

In summary, the conversation discusses the relationship between static and dynamic pressure in a water system and the concept of hydraulic multiplication. The conversation also poses a question about the force exerted on a small piston when a large piston is pushed down with a certain force.
Idea04
i'm stuck on a problem. Let's say you have a large water tower. and the pressure is basically static pressure from the weight of the water. But when the water starts moving through pipes is the pressure then dynamic pressure? In which would you have to calculate the pressure from 1/2 density of water times velocity ^2.

And another thing, I was studying hydraulic multiplication briefly. What I studied was you have a 2 inch diameter piston moving nine inches downward with a hundred pounds force. And it pushes a 6 inch diameter piston upward 1 inch with 900 pounds force. My question is if you pushed down the large piston with a hundred pounds force, then what kind of force will the small piston get.

Physics news on Phys.org
Idea04 said:
i'm stuck on a problem. Let's say you have a large water tower. and the pressure is basically static pressure from the weight of the water. But when the water starts moving through pipes is the pressure then dynamic pressure? In which would you have to calculate the pressure from 1/2 density of water times velocity ^2.
Bernoulli's principle applies. Pressure is a measure of the energy density of the fluid. Pressure can be converted to kinetic energy density (KE/unit volume), in which case the pressure must decrease by the amount of the increase in kinetic energy density.