Substation Capacitor Bank Problem

In summary, an entire group of 11 capacitors on one phase of a 138kv shunt capacitor bank blew their fuses. The other groups on that phase were normal. Testing each capacitor showed they were "normal", but when refused all 11 and reenergized the capacitor bank, all 11 fuses blew.
Brad B
Hello everyone,

I'm no engineer, just a guy that works in the electrical industry. Today I was doing some substation switching on a 138kv shunt capacitor bank, which consists of 11 capacitors connected in parallel forming a group, then four of those groups connected in series per phase, making 44 total caps per phase. The three phases are then wye connected.

We were called out to repair said capacitor bank due to an imbalance lockout. Generally when this happens we find a single fuse has blown, we replace the capacitor and the fuse and away we go. Today we found that an entire group of 11 capacitors on one phase had blown their fuses, but the other groups on that phase were normal. We tested each capacitor, and they all seemed "normal", as in not shorted and capacitance matching nameplate values.

We refused all 11 and reenergized the capacitor bank and, yep, all 11 fuses blew. So, me being as green as I am, am not sure what would cause a single group to blow while leaving the rest of the phase untouched.

Anyone with any experience care to offer any insight? Anything would be appreciated.

Thanks very much.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Even though I am not sure, it could be due to resonance between your capacitor bank and a nonlinear load connected to the same point. Since nonlinear load draw harmonic currents, resonance may happen at higher frequencies resulting in huge current and fuses may blow up.

Remove the capacitors, ship them to me.

Please don't take anything I say as an insult, I'm not sure of what you have tried to do to fix the situation.

Possible problems (that I can see):