Understanding Potential Reflections and Transmissions with Diagrams

In summary, the potential V(x) is as follows: 0 for x\le -a, V_{1} for -a\leqx\leq0, V_{0} for 0\leqx\leq+b, and 0 for x\ge +b. The transmission (T) and reflection (R) coefficients can be found by solving the Schrödinger's equation for each religion separately. R+T always equals one, but for case one the sum approaches one if V_{1} is small (shallow well) and V_{0} is small or b is small (the sums depends on the exponent of V0 and b).
splitringtail

Homework Statement

(*I have solved similar problems before and know the method, but my results don't make sense, so I want to make sure I understand this particular potential. Also, I am new to Latex so ignore the equal portion of the less/greather than or equal two signs.*)

I made a diagram of the potential I am working with.

http://img2.freeimagehosting.net/image.php?8baf7057bb.jpg

I need to find the transmission (T) and reflection (R) coefficients.

Just to make sure, what have you seen. The potential V(x) is as follows

[tex]0[/tex] for x[tex]\le[/tex] -a
[tex]V_{1}[/tex] for -a[tex]\leq[/tex]x[tex]\leq[/tex]0
[tex]V_{0}[/tex] for 0[tex]\leq[/tex]x[tex]\leq[/tex]+b
[tex]0[/tex] for x[tex]\ge[/tex] +b

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I don't need to worry about bound states E < 0. So, there are two remaining cases

Case 1: [tex] V_{1}[/tex][tex]\le[/tex][tex]E[/tex][tex]\le[/tex][tex]V_{0}[/tex]

Case 2: [tex] V_{0}[/tex][tex]\le[/tex][tex]E[/tex]