Can You Pursue a Career in Marine Biology with a Physics Degree?

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of working as a marine biologist with a physics degree and the suggestion to look into graduate programs at UCSB known for their marine biology programs. It also mentions various applications and research topics in the field, such as physical oceanography, biophysics, and studying marine life and their behaviors. The conversation also suggests a strong background in physics and applied mathematics for these fields and suggests considering other options such as biophysics or physical oceanography.
CloudDreamer7
As the title states does anyone know if you can actually work as a marine biologist with a physics degree ? Or if there's some Masters degree that allows you to ?

I am in my 2nd year of a Physics degree by the way.

Physics news on Phys.org
I would guess Physical Oceanography might be a better fit...but that's just my opinion.

start looking into schools known for their marine bio programs. I'm sorry I can't help too much but UCSB comes to mind as having a top marine bio program.

They have graduate programs in physics, marine science, molecular bio, EE, ME, CE, Math... as well as Materials. In fact on their research page there was a phd study for materials in marine science.
Seems to me like you could fine tune some studies there to encompass both physics and marine studies.

http://www.marinegp.ucsb.edu/

The more I looked through it the more it seems like a BS in physics could translate just fine to their MS in marine science. Lisab mentioned doing physical oceanography, one fo the four core classes taken for the MS in marine science at UCSB is intro to physical oceanography

Last edited by a moderator:
I have one friend who is doing graduate work in oceanography after doing a BSc in physics.