Guidance Needed For Undergrad Research

In summary, the speaker is an undergraduate student seeking guidance for doing research. They ask for advice on important factors for successful research and how to publish their work in a scientific journal. They also share a negative experience with a professor.
Peon666
Hi all.

I'm an undergrad student of EE with specialization in Telecommunications and I need guidance for doing undergrad research? Here are my questions:

1- What are most important ingredients to carry out a good undergrad research?
2- How can I publish an undergrad research thesis/paper in some scientific journal?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
1. Find a professor to work with who has a strong reputation, who is friendly and helpful, and who will recognize and respect serious effort and dedication on your part.
2. See #1, or just find a professor who just wants you as a lackey, writes a paper on his own, asks you to proofread the paper and then doesn't accept any of your revisions even though he barely speaks English, and then puts your name on it, which is what happened to me.

Hi there,

As a fellow scientist, I understand the importance of guidance in research. To answer your questions:

1- The most important ingredients for a good undergrad research are a clear research question, a well-defined methodology, and thorough data analysis. It is also important to have a strong understanding of the relevant literature and to be able to articulate the significance of your research.

2- To publish an undergrad research thesis/paper in a scientific journal, you will need to follow the submission guidelines of the journal you are interested in. This typically includes formatting requirements, word limits, and referencing style. It is also important to have your work reviewed by a mentor or professor before submitting to ensure its quality and relevance to the journal's scope.