Radio sounds come out earlier than TV's

• Thread starter bentzy
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Radio
In summary: Modern" digital radio and TV is delayed a lot longer than that. :smile:The delay is quite noticeable with NICAM. Lot of buffering maybe. I was a BBC engineer and presenters complained that when using off air cueing off FM transmitters they found it disorientating when listening to themselves on outside broadcasts. Thanks for your input!Welcome to PF!
bentzy
When hearing the same sound coming out from a Radio and a TV simultaneously (e.g., when
a channel is beeing broadcasted on the radio and on TV at the same time), the radio sound
precedes the sound coming out of the TV. The phenomenon is quite noticeable. The reason
for this must be technological, and is likely due to different delay time/s through both machineries. I'd like to get more information about this delay and related phenomenon.
Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!

bentzy said:
When hearing the same sound coming out from a Radio and a TV simultaneously (e.g., when
a channel is beeing broadcasted on the radio and on TV at the same time), the radio sound precedes the sound coming out of the TV. The phenomenon is quite noticeable …

Hi bentzy! Welcome to PF! :smile:

Is this UK or US? Digital or not?

If it's digital TV and ordinary radio, then the radio will be earlier because the digital signal gets delayed while it's encoded (and, no, I don't know why, but I do know that that happens :redface:).

Thanks a lot, for your greetings and reply, as well.
What's the difference between UK & US ? It is in Israel, and I think it's in the same
category as the UK (Europe).
Analog vs digital is a very good point.

Let's wait for a more profound answer to this.

This may seem a little obvious, but are you sitting closer to the TV than the radio or visa versa?

Hootenanny said:
This may seem a little obvious, but are you sitting closer to the TV than the radio or visa versa?

:rofl: :rofl:​