Have I seen a UFO or just been fooled by my own perception?

• Thread starter FlexGunship
  • Start date
In summary: I had never seen anything like this before. I approached it and it slowly moved towards me. I then realized that it was a blimp and I quickly ran away. It was an incredibly surreal and anxiety-provoking experience.In summary, three amateur astronomers had experiences with unidentified aerial phenomena (UAPs) which they determined to be planes but which did not match their world view of what a plane should look like.
FlexGunship
Gold Member
With the glut of UFO stories flooding the forum lately I thought I would share three of mine. I am an amateur astronomer and an avid astrophotographer; night sky phenomenon are not usually mysteries to me.

1) It was a cold winter night, and I was set up in a rural peach farm far form light pollution. While taking a long exposure photograph, I laid back and stared up. I was trying to catch satellites out of the corner of my eye so I could watch them.

While following one, I caught a bright one off to the side (about twice the brightness of the satellite I was watching). I seemed to grow dimmer once I looked at it, and then actually faded into nothing. I had never seen a satellite do this, certainly not one so bright! At first I was overcome with the feeling that I had seen something truly special. It was only in retrospect that I realized my cognitive bias.