Is Engineering Physics a better way to get a career in Physics?

In summary, it is recommended to major in Physics in order to pursue a career in the field. While a Bachelor's in Engineering Physics may provide a more practical focus, a Bachelor's in Science with a Chemical Physics/Physical Chemistry or Physics major may also be suitable options. As a Grade 12 student in Ontario, it is advised to take advantage of the first year or two of university to explore different paths and seek advice from professors, students, and academic counselors.
Ch19
Firstly thanks for reading my post. I was wondering would going to University for a Bachelors in Engineering Physics be the best way to get a career in Physics or would a Bachelors of science with a Chemical Physics/Physical Chemistry or a Physics major be a better option? I'm currently a Grade 12 student in Ontario, I have good grades (around an 85 average) and since my first Physics class I've wanted a career in the field (R&D). I am very confused on the best possible route and I would appreciate any advice, Thank you. Chris

Physics news on Phys.org
Generally the best way to get a career in Physics is to major in / study Physics.

Engineering physics is more aimed towards applied physics/science. That's my understanding anyway.

The good news is, you don't have to decide right away. The first year or two are very similar. So once you get into a university, you can talk to professors, students, and academic counselors to see which path might suit you best.

I understand your dilemma and I am happy to provide some guidance. The answer to whether Engineering Physics is a better way to get a career in Physics ultimately depends on your career goals and interests.