Self-Taught Physics for High School Sophomore

In summary: Great book!In summary, the conversation discusses the individual's interest in physics and quantum mechanics, but their struggle to learn without a background in calculus. They have been trying to learn through reading books and websites, but are in need of a clear plan and reliable sources. The conversation also includes recommendations for resources, such as textbooks and lectures, to help the individual learn calculus and other necessary math concepts before diving into higher level physics.
TheFarmer
I am a sophomore in high school and became interested in physics, particularly quantum mechanics, about a year ago. However, I will not be able to take a physics or calculus course in school until I am a junior. I have been trying to learn physics by myself, but without a background in calculus have had to settle for learning mostly concepts as opposed to formulas.

Mainly I've been trying to accomplish this by reading related books and internet sites, but without a clear-cut plan to follow or any way of ascertaining the legitimacy of these sources, I am lost. Any advice, references, or sites you could offer would be greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Don't worry, I'm in the same boat as you ;)
To start me off on Quantum Theory I began with the somewhat patronising book of "Introducing Quantum Theory" by J.P. McEvoy and Oscar Zarate as well as the Feynman lectures - mostly "Six easy pieces" and "Six harder pieces." They both give nice tasters of what is to come and furthered my interesting in Physics. They are also very straight forward and explain things in layman's terms.

There is also a brilliant set of lectures given by Hans Bethe at this link:
http://bethe.cornell.edu/
That's really good.