Should i pursue a career in mathematics or aim for less?

In summary, the poster is a Norwegian gymnasium student who is passionate about mathematics and wants to pursue an academic career in the field. However, he is concerned about his intellectual capability and whether it will hinder his chances of success. He is debating whether to aim for a research position or settle for a lower degree and work in industry while practicing math as a hobby. He is also comparing the expectations for mathematicians and doctors and seeking advice from others.
physicsadmiR
Before you start reading this post, let me get one thing in the clear; no matter what, i will continue to study mathematics - let it be either a hobby or profession, its in my blood, and i am not going to quit :)

Now I am a norwegian gymnasium student on 2nd year (i think it is compareable to HS, I'm not certain though), and i am really fond of mathematics, and to some extent physics. My career dream is an academic career in the field of mathematics. I hope to get a phd and get into mathematical research, in some way or another. I just have a few problems, that may complicate or even block the road to this goal.

My ideal career path looks something like this;
Main interest is math, but i am planning to study physics besides it, since its my other great passion, although not quite as strong as math.

bachelor's math --> masters math --> phd math --> research math (hopefully as a professor lol :)