Coping with Exam Nerves: My Story of Fear & Uncertainty

In summary: If you're not comfortable with labs, then you're definitely not going to enjoy practicals. Personally, I've never been too scared of practicals. I calm down and just go into the session with a plan and I usually end up doing alright. I think the biggest thing is to relax and not worry about everything. If you do that, then you'll be fine.
icvotria
I've got an exam tomorrow and I'm scared. :cry: It's a practical and I've never done one before under exam conditions. I'm worried I'm going to knock everything over or forget where I am and start talking to people or something else dumb like that. I've got butterflies in my tummy. How does everyone cope with exam nerves?

Physics news on Phys.org
It depends... got any spare needles? lol jk. I never get worried about tests. Your probably going to do as well as you think your going to do (or at least you need to bash that idea into your brain). Just remember that its just one of many tests in your life and in the end, all tests are insignificant because we're all as insignificant as humans to the universe and soon, a comet shall hit Earth vaporizing all of us. That being said, exams shouldn't be a worrisome ordeal.

I never ever get nervous about exams. It's really stupid, I end up thinking "ahh it'll be fine!" and never putting any pressure on myself, which usually ends up in the form of pretty poor results. I'm chilled out all through exams, and then when it comes to results day I brick my pants.

I'd be happy to swap you ic, if you can find a way of making me nervous*! What exams you got anyway?

* - I now realize I've set Danger up for a comment involving gerbils and superglue, so thought I'd add this to take the wind, urm, out of his sails.

Last edited: