Question about continuity postulates

In summary: So if you require a physical motivation for the continuity of \psi, just say that if it were discontinuous, the derivative could be infinite, and since the derivative is the momentum, this is unphysical.In summary, the constraint that the wavefunction must be continuous and smooth is simply an axiom of the theory, but it can also be justified physically by considering the consequences of a discontinuous wavefunction. This condition allows for enough equations to determine the coefficients of the wavefunction and can be demonstrated experimentally through the probability current being continuous.
thesm
I had a search for an answer but I turned up nothing, if this has been covered before could someone point me in the right direction?

To the question.

I'm studying QM at the moment but I'm having trouble with two of the postulates. Is the constraint that the wavefunction must be continuous and smooth (continuous first derivatives) based on anything more, or is it simply an axiom of the theory? To me it seems like the condition was placed because it means you then have enough equations to determine the coefficients of the wavefunction.

If it is one of the axioms of the theory I'd be interested to know of any experimental ways of demonstrating that this is the case.

Thanks
Ryan

(long time lurker, first time poster)

Physics news on Phys.org
"If it is one of the axioms of the theory I'd be interested to know of any experimental ways of demonstrating that this is the case."

tunnel effect

Ok, so it's an axiom, thanks. I got the impression from my lecturer that the continutity conditions should make sense physically, like that it should be obvious that a wavefunction is smooth and continuous, but it wasn't making any sense like that to me.

And of course, quantum tunneling, thanks again.