Wiring a 110V Fan with Low Voltage Thermostat: A Beginner's Guide

In summary, for controlling a 110V fan with a low voltage thermostat, you will need an Opto-Isolating Triac to safely isolate the low voltage side from the high voltage side. It is recommended to search for an opto-isolating triac and obtain a data sheet and application notes for proper wiring. It is important to have an expert check your work before building and plugging in. Another option is to use a plain old relay, which can be found at Radio Shack. It is not advisable to use a line voltage thermostat or attempt to design a safe low voltage controller without expert knowledge. It is safer to purchase a UL approved controller.
ZooY151
I am trying to control a 110V fan with a low voltage thermostat. I am pretty new to electrical theory... I would like a basic description of what I need and how to properly wire it. Thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
You need an Opto-Isolating Triac, this will safely isolate the low voltage side form the high voltage side.
Do an internet search for opto-isolating triacs, get the data sheet on a suitable one and there may be circuits in the application notes.
Make sure you get your work checked by somebody who knows what they are doing before you build it and definitely before you plug it in.

For someone who seems new to electricity as does the OP I would recommend starting with the low-tech approach of a plain old relay. I haven't looked for a while, but I suspect Radio Shack has exactly the device you need.

What about a line voltage thermostat?

An lm35 temp sensor hooked up to a comparator to trigger a relay is probably the way I would go. You can hook a pot up to the comparator to adjust the reference voltage and act like a thermostat. The last time I used an LM35, I believe it sourced 1mA/degree Celcius.

Last edited:
russ_watters said:
What about a line voltage thermostat?