Nuclear Engineering Questions

In summary, the speaker is a physics and math student interested in nuclear and quantum physics. They are considering graduate school in physics but are also interested in nuclear engineering. They have experience with hands-on work and are unsure of which sub-field to focus on. They ask for advice on the role of computer modeling and design in nuclear engineering, how to determine the strength of a graduate program, and skills in demand in industry. The speaker is also seeking recommendations for research areas based on their interests.
DukeLuke
I'm a physics and math student one year away from finishing my undergraduate degrees. I've taken plenty of classes but found I'm most interested in nuclear and quantum physics. Graduate school in physics has been the plan since the start, but I'm beginning to think nuclear engineering might fit my interests/personality better. I think this because while I do find the physics side of things very interesting I enjoy the application of the science more than the "fundamental physics" type research. This summer I had the chance to work at a national lab where I designed, modeled, and built an instrument for a nuclear facility. I really enjoyed the opportunity to create something that fixes a unique problem. I prefer this to previous physics research I have done involving physics experiments. I think the main reason for this is my hands-on personality. I enjoy building/fixing things and always have more projects going than I have time for (thanks to coursework).