Not sure which company department I should take

• Thread starter Butters
  • Start date
  • Tags
    company
In summary, the student is considering a summer internship and is unsure which department to choose. He asks an expert for advice. The expert recommends the production side of the company. The production side involves working with engineering and quality assurance. The day-to-day responsibilities of the production department include ensuring the build process stays on schedule, and working with engineering and quality assurance to determine why parts are coming out bad.
Butters
I'm an undergrad Industrial Engineering student and I'm interested in a summer internship. According to the ad I could choose between some different departments, i.e. Production, Engineering, Quality assurance. Could you briefly elaborate on each department? I'm not sure which one I should take as an IE. My studies are almost over and it doesn't feel like my program familiarized me enough with any of those.

Physics news on Phys.org
You need practical experience. Go toward the Production side of the company. The Engineering side thinks they already understand this stuff. Most of the time, they do. However, some Engineers get glued to their desks. It may have been years since they actually saw the Production side of things.

How do I know this? I work for the Engineering division of a utility. We have a vibrant Production team and they're worth visiting every so often to see what they're up to. We both learn a lot from each other. Seeing Engineering principles applied to the real world is an eye-opener.

Could you describe responsibilities of your company's Production Department?

I work for a large water utility. The production side does water and waste-water plant operations, infrastructure maintenance and repair (valve exercising, pump maintenance, substation work).