Quantum Chemistry/Mechanics Graduate Study

In summary, the speaker is a chemical engineering student who has found a new interest in quantum mechanics and is considering pursuing a master's degree in the subject. They are unsure if this program is offered at most colleges and if their current undergraduate degree in chemical engineering would be sufficient for enrollment. Another speaker suggests that a degree in physical chemistry may be more appropriate for this interest and that a chemical engineering degree would still allow for enrollment with some additional courses possibly required.
physstudent1
Hi all,

I've been studying chemical engineering for three years now and will be entering my senior and final year next year. This year I found my quantum chemistry/mechanics course very interesting and enjoyable. I also found that I'm pretty good at it. I feel like I might be more interested in quantum mechanics than engineering. I was just wondering if there is a masters in quantum mechanics offered at most colleges. The other thing I want to know is what kind of undergraduate degree I would need I don't really know much about graduate school or how it works. Would I be able to enroll in a masters program with a chemical engineering degree or would they want something more geared toward just chem. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
it wouldn't be called a "masters in quantum mechanics"

more like, physical chemistry.

and yes, a degree in chemical engineering would allow you to enroll in a physical chem program. they might make you take a few remedial courses, but you're not that badly off.

1. What is the difference between quantum chemistry and quantum mechanics?