Help with Statics and Strengths of Materials

In summary, Rob has recently signed up for a forum and is seeking help with analyzing the forces on a bucket loader for his garden tractor. He has a degree in Mechanical Design and has been working as a drafter for 10 years. However, it has been a while since he has worked with statics and he is looking to refresh his knowledge. He has been studying his Statics and Strengths of Materials book for the last few months, but has become confused and is unsure if he is doing the calculations correctly. He is particularly struggling with finding the balancing forces in the Y direction. Rob has shared a diagram and his calculations, but is looking for someone to check his work and provide guidance on how to proceed.
grandnat_6
Hi,

I just signed up with the forum. I have a degree in Mechanical Design, have been working as a drafter. It's been about 10 years since I've done any statics and wanted to re-learn this stuff by making a bucket loader for my garden tractor. The last few months I've been reading my Statics and Strengths of Materials book. I think I might have confused myself.

I'm currently working on the bucket and want to analysis the forces on the hydraulic ram pin A, and the solid arm at Pin B.

I've tried to do this in different ways and keep getting different answers. It's frustrating when you don't have someone to tell you what you are doing right or wrong.

The attachments below show a diagram and my forces of 500lbs to lift and also my 850#'s my tractor can push. Each step I show what I did along with the math.

I'm not sure if I'm correct on this. I'm pretty sure I have my forces balanced in the X direction, but when I go though using SIN 30.47 degrees to sum forces in the Y direction, I get a much bigger, unrealistic number. I found out if I use the compliment angle SIN 59.63 it comes out correctly.

This confuses me because if I use right angle trig I should be using 30.47degrees for to find the opposite leg.