Exploring the Milne Universe in 2D: Rindler Spacetime Comparison

In summary, the conversation discusses the Milne universe in two dimensions, which has a metric similar to Rindler spacetime but with inverted time and space. The conversation also mentions the Carter-Penrose diagram and the book "Physical Foundations of Cosmology" by Mukhanov. The concept of a true cosmological singularity is also discussed, with the conclusion that the Milne universe does not have one. Finally, the conversation turns to the topic of a compact Milne universe and the search for articles and research papers on the subject.
alialice
I'm studying the Milne Universe in two dimensions. The metric is similar to that of Rindler spacetime, but with time and space inverted.
[itex]ds^{2}=-dt^{2}+t^{2}dx^{2}[/itex]
The Carter Penrose diagram of this spacetime would be the same of Rindler spacetime?

Physics news on Phys.org
The "Milne universe"? Is that where Winnie ther Pooh lives?

Last edited by a moderator:
HallsofIvy said:
The "Milne universe"? Is that when Winnie ther Pooh lives?

The Wiki

Apart from Winnie the Pooh, anyone has an idea on what to do?

alialice said:
Apart from Winnie the Pooh, anyone has an idea on what to do?

I don't. What have you done? What's a Carter-Penrose diagram? What's a Rindler spacetime?

The Milne universe I've familiar with is just a funny coordinate system on flat, topologically trivial spacetime. Carter-Penrose diagrams, such as I understand them, deal only with coordinate independent geometry and topology of the manifold. Given these definitions (which may not be yours - please clarify) - the Carter-Penrose diagram would just be that for Minkowski spacetime.

Dickfore said:
I don't. What have you done? What's a Carter-Penrose diagram? What's a Rindler spacetime?
If you don't know what are they, you can't help me, I'm sorry!

PAllen said: