Beginner fortran question - starting with a new slate

In summary, the individual is new to Fortran 77 and is unfamiliar with certain tasks such as clearing old data and assigning values to a matrix. They were hoping for a simpler method but were informed that looping is necessary to initialize arrays.
Moly
Hi All

I am new to fortran and there are things that I believe fortran should do and don't know how to do it - I am using fortran 77.

1- I know how to declare variables, but i do not know how to make sure that i start out with zeros and not use old data that might have been stored by a previous program run or randomly assigned by the memory. (the equivalent of clear all in matlab)

2- If i declare a 3 by 3 matrix called A, and I want to assign the value 4 for each of the elements of the matrix, what is the simplest way of doing that? Setting A=4 did not work for me. I can put it in a loop but i feel there has to be an easier way if i am doing something as simple as this. [in MATLAB i would simply say A(:,:)=4]

Thanks for your help in advance.

Technology news on Phys.org
Unfortunately, there are no shortcuts. Set every variable to zero, use loops to initialize array.

Thanks for the prompt reply Borek. I am glad I asked instead of banging my head against the screen until next week. Thanks again.

What is Fortran?

Fortran is a high-level programming language designed for scientific and engineering applications. It was developed in the 1950s and is known for its powerful array and mathematical manipulation capabilities.

How do I begin learning Fortran?

The best way to start learning Fortran is by familiarizing yourself with the basics of programming, such as data types, variables, and control structures. You can then move on to learning the specific syntax and features of Fortran through online tutorials, books, or courses.

Do I need any special tools to write and run Fortran programs?