Questions concerning Finite Fields (Basic Abstract Algebra)

In summary, the person is having difficulty constructing examples for question 9 on the math 240 problem set. They are having difficulty with the last part of the problem set, which asks for an example where a^2-M is not zero. They are trying to solve for an inverse of a given element in F^M, but are stumped because M=1 does not have an inverse. They are also trying to show that F^M is not a field by demonstrating how one axiom in the definition of field fails to hold.
elias001
Hello, everyone, i am a newbie here. I am currently taking a modern linear algebra course that also focus on vector spaces over the fields of Zp and complex numbers.
Since i am not familiar with typing up mathematics using tex or anything so that i can post on the forums, i will use the following notations for ease of readings.

Let F^M denotes F with a superscript M
Let Fp^M denotes F^M with suscript p, where p is an odd prime.

There is one part to my problem sets which i am having difficultty constructing examples. There are 3 parts to the question but i can't figure out the last part. Here it is:

Let F be a field. Suppose that M is a nonzero element of F. Let F^M={(a,b) such that a, b both belongs to F}. Define

(a1, b1)*(a2, b2)=(a1b2+b1b2M, a2b1+a1b2)

(a1, b1)+(a2, b2)=(a1+a2, b1+b2), a1, b1, a2, b2 are all elements of F.

a) Suppose that (a^2)-M is not zero for all a belonging to F. Then F^M is a field. Prove the following field axioms hold for F^M

associativity of multiplication
existence of multiplicative identity
existence of multiplicative inverse for nonzero elements

b) suppose that a^2=M for some a in F. Prove that F^M is not a field by demonstrating how one axiom in the definition of field fails to hold.