Creating an arbitary symbolic matrix in Matlab

In summary, the speaker is new to using MATLAB and is trying to write a function that creates a matrix with symbolic variable names. They are unsure of the syntax for creating these names and are seeking suggestions. They mention using nested loops but are still struggling to achieve the desired result.
EbolaPox

Homework Statement

Hi everyone, I'm new to using MATLAB and had a quick question. I'm trying to write a function such that my input into it is a number, say n, and it produces an n by n matrix with symbolic variables with names of the form aij , where i and j are numbers that refer to its row and column positions. This didn't seem like it would be too terribly tough, but I'm not sure how to make give my matrix these variable names of the form aij. I figured I could write a loop of some form that went from 0 to n and gave each an a1n or something of that form name, just to get at least one row, but I'm not too sure what syntax to use to give the symbolic variable its name. I was hoping I could write a loop with a variable i that ranged from 0 to n, and then do something like syms a'i' or something like that. I thought maybe if I turned the number i into a string, I could do something like that to make a bunch of symbolic variables, but I still had no luck. Any suggestions would be very appreciated. Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm not familiar with Matlab. But wouldn't this involve two nested loops, no matter what programming language is used?

I would suggest using the "sym" function in MATLAB to create a symbolic matrix with arbitrary variables. This function allows you to specify the size of the matrix and the variable names. For example, you can use the following code:

A = sym('a',[n,n]);