What is the average grade in grad school?

In summary: Well, if I'm asking a faculty member, they'd most probably give a very broad and general answer. After all, saying "most people get As as long as they work hard" is something no person in a department would guarantee unless they actually teach the class. I'd imagine something more like, "you'd have to be more specific and ask the professor related to the course as each course depends". And yes, I'm quite proud. It's one of the main reasons why I'm trying to get into a math-focused program.
sbk
"Normal" Grad School Grades

I'm just finished my first semester of graduate school and I had a question about grades. I did ok this semester, not as good as I'd like but above 3.0. However, I'm a little confused about grades in grad school. As a an undergraduate I had around 3.8, but didn't worry about the grade as long as I learned the material well. I have the same mindset in grad school.

But I guess I'm kind of confused about what the average grade is. Most programs seem like they don't give credit for anything below a B, however in one class I scored at or above the median on all exams and still got a B+. I'm fine with that grade, but I've had friends tell me that anything below an A is bad. I can't believe this is true (from my limited experience). I was just curious what the average grade is in grad school (is a B really equal to a C?). I'm in an applied math program btw.

Physics news on Phys.org

Some professors give everyone an A unless you do very poorly, some give out F's (yes, actual F's). My GPA at my first grad school was a 3.2; after transferring, my GPA at the second grad school (same rank) was 3.9 when I graduated. Every school has their own way of doing things. From what I've seen, the basic classes you take when you arrive are 'A is great, B is good, C is a problem' and seminar or more specialized courses are 'most people get an A, B isn't great, C means you didn't show up'.