Build a Simple Boost Converter Circuit for 9V-1W Power Source

In summary, the speaker is new to electronics and is looking for a simple boost converter circuit that can be made with minimal parts. They have a 9v-1w power source and want to use it to create a spark between two electrodes. They are looking for schematics, diagrams, and photos, but they only have basic soldering skills and access to RadioShack. They have found a simple circuit online but are unsure about the switch and how to make it switch off and on quickly. This question has been answered on a forum.
ben123324
hi, i am pretty new with electronics, and i can't find any simple boost converter circuts on the enternet. i would like to make the circut THE MOST SIMPLE i can, with the fewest possible parts. for a power source, i have 9v-1w. for the output power, i would like to send a thin spark from 1 electrode to the other about 1/8"-1/4" apart as a substitute as a spark plug. schematics, diagrams, photos, links all would be helpful, but keep in mind that about all i can do is solder, and go to raioshack.
thanks,
Ben

edit: here is a simple curcut i found(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Boost_circuit.png), and i understand everything but the switch. how would i get a switch that switches the flow of electricity off-on that fast?

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Last edited by a moderator:

1. How does a boost converter circuit work?

A boost converter circuit is a type of DC-DC converter that increases the voltage of a power source. It works by using an inductor and a switch to store energy in the inductor and then release it to the output at a higher voltage.

2. What materials are needed to build a simple boost converter circuit for a 9V-1W power source?

The materials needed include an inductor, a switch (such as a MOSFET or BJT), a diode, capacitors, resistors, and a 9V battery. A breadboard, wires, and a DC power supply are also necessary for prototyping and testing.