Resonance Structures of PO4 (3-)

In summary, the student is studying for an AP Chemistry exam and is stuck on a question involving drawing resonance structures for PO4 (3-). They have attempted to draw the Lewis structure, but are unsure of how to incorporate resonance into their diagram. They are seeking assistance in understanding the concept of resonance and how it applies to this specific problem.
oceanflavored
hi :biggrin: please help. thankyouuu :]

Homework Statement

i am studying for my apchem exam in may.and got stuckup on a question. it's just a little exercise.so the answers aren't there.but ok here it is;
give the resonance structures of PO4 (3-) and there's supposed to be four

Homework Equations

none?

The Attempt at a Solution

i started drawing it so..
PO4 (3-) = 5 + (6*4) +3 = 32/2 = 16 pairs of electrons so...

O
|
O -- P --- O
|
O

so there's the single bonds (8 electrons: octet rule) for P and then 6 electrons around each O to complete O's octet rule.
and my problem is...where's the dang resonance structure? :eek: because everyone gets their electrons.and is happy. unless of course P has an expanded octet and gets more than 8?
i don't know. please help me. thankuuuu :biggrin:
'ppreciate it alottttt.

Physics news on Phys.org
sorry.

ewwww.my molecular structure messed up. hopefully you guys will understand what I'm talking aboutt.
gracias y adios
:biggrin: <- i like that smiley

how about one double bound, two single bound and another oxygen atom just dangling around, sucking the electron from the P and not sharing any?

I might be wrong though... it's been a while since that ap chem exam...

tim_lou said:
how about one double bound, two single bound and another oxygen atom just dangling around, sucking the electron from the P and not sharing any?

This isn't a resonance structure - by definition, connectivity must remain unchanged; you can only move electrons.