Triangular Obelisk: Calculate Angle & Height

• Thread starter markmdesigns
  • Start date
In summary, a new member to the forum, M, is seeking help with a scenic piece they want to build for a theatre. The piece is an obelisk with a triangular base and trapezoidal sides, with specific dimensions provided. M is looking for the angle between the vertical and one of the side faces, as well as the overall height of the solid. Another member, Ardiank, provides the necessary formulas and calculations to find both the angle (1.378°) and the height (13' 11.95"). M expresses their gratitude and mentions that they rarely use trigonometry in their work and now just need to figure out how to build the piece.
markmdesigns
Hi all

I am new to the forum. I'm a designer for theatre and I'm having some trouble figuring out a scenic piece I want to build.

The piece is essentially an obelisk with a triangular base. The three sides of the solid are trapezoids with 4' wide base, 2'-10" wide top and an overall height of 14' (dimensions shown in the image). The base is an equilateral triangle with 4' sides and the top is an equilateral triangle with 2'-10" sides.

Each of the sides must slope back slightly in order for their edges to meet. So the two questions are:
1) What is that angle? (shown as angel n)
2) What is the overall height of the solid?

Thanks so much for your help!

~M.

Attachments

• Obelisk.JPG
    Obelisk.JPG
    12.1 KB · Views: 668
Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome!

I'm assuming the height of each trapezoidal face is 14', and you want the total height. I'm also assuming the angle you want (which I will refer to by θ) is the angle between the vertical and one of the side faces, not one of the edges.