Help Incline Plane Acceleration Vehicle Friction Distance

In summary, the problem at hand is calculating the distance a car (m = 1498.95 kg) can travel while constantly accelerating uphill (15 degrees incline) from 0 to 43 mph (69.2 km/h) and from 5 to 43 mph (8 to 69.2 km/h) on a wet and snowy road. The car's acceleration is limited by the static and dynamic friction coefficients of 0.6 and 0.4 respectively. Additional data that may be needed includes the acceleration times of the car from 0-60 mph (0-97 km/h) and 0-43 mph (69.2 km/h) on a dry road, as well as the equations for calculating
istodorov
Hello. I am new to this forum. I am a chemist. Physics is not my strength. Recently, I got a speeding ticket and I have to do some simple calculations in order to silence my mind. The problem is the following:

A car (m = 1498.95 kg) is constantly accelerating uphill (15 degrees incline) from:

a) 0 to 43 mph (69.2 km/h)
b) 5 to 43 mph (8 to 69.2 km/h)

The road is wet and it is snowing.

Static and dynamic friction coefficients are 0.6 and 0.4, respectively.

The acceleration time of the car from 0-60 mph (0-97 km/h) on a dry road is 8 seconds.
The acceleration time of the car from 0-43 mph (69.2 km/h) on a dry road is 5.73 seconds.

What distance the car would travel in both cases?
Is there any other data that I have to provide? Can you also include the equations that have to be used in order to solve this problem? Thank you so much!

Physics news on Phys.org
This is an odd problem. Why would the distance the car travels be limited? If it can get sufficient grip on the road to accelerate, it should be able to keep on going at that same acceleration until something radical happens, such as reaching the top of the hill, running out of gas or exceeding the speed of light. Surely the answer is either zero or infinity for the distance.

It would be interesting to calculate the accelerations in the two cases, perhaps using