Is quantum gravity a promising field?

In summary: It's definitely a difficult field, but if it interests you, I wouldn't discourage you from considering it. Just be prepared for a challenging journey.In summary, quantum gravity is a highly sought-after area of research in physics, but the progress in its development is debatable. The required mathematics for this field are advanced and it is considered a difficult area, but it is still worth considering if it is of interest to you.
Fizicks1
I am a UG student and want to ask about the current state of quantum gravity research.

Is quantum gravity a promising field in physics research right now, as in, is it making much progress in its development?

Also, on a related note, what are the mathematics required in this field? Is it an extremely difficult field and should I just forget about even considering it altogether?

Physics news on Phys.org
Fizicks1 said:
I am a UG student and want to ask about the current state of quantum gravity research.

Is quantum gravity a promising field in physics research right now, as in, is it making much progress in its development?

Also, on a related note, what are the mathematics required in this field? Is it an extremely difficult field and should I just forget about even considering it altogether?

I think I should preface this by saying I'm no expert, but:

As it's seen as one of the holy grails of physics it's always going to be an active area of research.