Warning: include_once([path]/mobiquo/smartbanner.php) [function.include-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in [path]/global.php(1091) : eval()'d code on line 38

Warning: include_once() [function.include]: Failed opening '[path]/mobiquo/smartbanner.php' for inclusion (include_path='/usr/lib/php:.:/usr/local/lib/php') in [path]/global.php(1091) : eval()'d code on line 38
Simple Square Wave Oscillator
Register to reply

by Adder_Noir
Tags: oscillator, simple, square, wave
Share this thread:
Adder_Noir
May16-07, 02:45 PM
P: 238
Hi,

I promise I did search for this before posting what I thought would have been something which had been answered before.

Can anyone tell me how to build a simple square wave oscillator? Do I need a differentiator to get the straight vertical lines? I'd appreciate any help anyone could offer me.

Please also remember I'm a novice, thanks
Phys.Org News Partner Engineering news on Phys.org
Printing the metals of the future
New gadget helps the vision-impaired to read graphs
3D printing helps designers build a better brick
chroot
May16-07, 02:49 PM
Emeritus
Sci Advisor
PF Gold
P: 10,429
Most people just buy them for a couple cents a piece -- they're called crystal oscillator modules.

Is there a reason why you want to develop your own from scratch? If so, the easiest method is to make a simple resonant circuit that produces a sine wave, and then use that to drive a digital inverter. The output of the inverter will be a square wave.

- Warren
Adder_Noir
May16-07, 02:52 PM
Quote Quote by chroot View Post
Most people just buy them for a couple cents a piece -- they're called crystal oscillator modules.

Is there a reason why you want to develop your own from scratch? If so, the easiest method is to make a simple resonant circuit that produces a sine wave, and then use that to drive a digital inverter. The output of the inverter will be a square wave.

- Warren