Elementary Algebra & Euclidean Geometry

by Howers
Tags: algebra, elementary, euclidean, geometry
Howers
May6-08, 08:59 PM
P: 444
I would say by now, I'm an expert in manipulating equations and playing with algebra. However, I've also realized I have no idea why some of the operations I do are valid. For example... why is (x+2)(x-2) = x^2 - 4? Why does this expansion work? I'm guessing it preserves some kind of field definition. And why do the exponent laws hold? Why must BEDMAS be preserved? Why is a negative times a positive a negative? Why can you multiply two equations?

These are all things I would like a firm theoretical grasp of. The problem is most of the algebra books and precalc books I've seen only emphasize memorization of the techiques, which is a skill I already have. I'd like theorems, proofs, and definitions of elementary math. The closest thing to such a book I've read is Courant's WIM, but even he already assumes you know a lot of this stuff, like exponents (which I do, but not why they work). Likewise, I'd like a firm grasp of Euclidean geometry for the mathematically mature.

Can anyone reccommend titles?
Phys.Org News Partner Mathematics news on Phys.org
Researchers help Boston Marathon organizers plan for 2014 race
'Math detective' analyzes odds for suspicious lottery wins
Pseudo-mathematics and financial charlatanism
lurflurf
May6-08, 09:41 PM
HW Helper
P: 2,151
These things follow from some axioms, in particular those of a field.
Choose different axioms and they will not follow.
So the question is really why adopt field axioms.
Because the system we are interested in follows them.

What is BEDMAS? Order of operations? It is simply an standard order so that the more common expression is shorter that the less commom one.
of expressions of the type
2?*?x?+?1
(2*x)+1
is more common than
2*(x+1)
so we let
2*x+1=(2*x)+1
symbolipoint
May6-08, 10:02 PM
HW Helper
P: 2,692