Register to reply

Hydrogen to Helium

by Softballokie
Tags: fusion, helium, hydrogen
Share this thread:
Softballokie
Sep26-08, 07:50 PM
P: 2
I am a freshman and in physical science but we have not yet come to fusion or anything like that. One day I jsut started to think.. what if you took an ordinary hydrogen atom (not an isotope.) and added 1 proton, 1 electron, and 2 neutrons in whatever way you could. Would you get helium, or just a very strange hydrogen atom, or what?
Phys.Org News Partner Physics news on Phys.org
Step lightly: All-optical transistor triggered by single photon promises advances in quantum applications
The unifying framework of symmetry reveals properties of a broad range of physical systems
What time is it in the universe?
mgb_phys
Sep26-08, 08:03 PM
Sci Advisor
HW Helper
P: 8,953
Yes you get helium, it's quite easy to do in large quantities if you have the correct equipement ( a star)
Softballokie
Sep26-08, 08:11 PM
P: 2
Quote Quote by mgb_phys View Post
Yes you get helium, it's quite easy to do in large quantities if you have the correct equipement ( a star)
Thats kind of cool.. would you happen to know how? and if so would you care to try to explain it to me?

Astronuc
Sep26-08, 08:34 PM
Admin
P: 21,880
Hydrogen to Helium

Quote Quote by Softballokie View Post
I am a freshman and in physical science but we have not yet come to fusion or anything like that. One day I jsut started to think.. what if you took an ordinary hydrogen atom (not an isotope.) and added 1 proton, 1 electron, and 2 neutrons in whatever way you could. Would you get helium, or just a very strange hydrogen atom, or what?