Register to reply

Whatever happened to the Particle Theory of Light?

by Mark
Tags: happened, light, particle, theory
Share this thread:
Mark
May18-04, 09:10 PM
P: 59
Hello, I am a student in high schoool, and everywhere i look i see the obvious implications that light travels as a wave. I mean

-Rectilinear Propogation
-Refraction
-Reflection
-Diffraction

etc. all seem to point to wave theory, but what do the particle people say about these things..

just looking for a second opinion,

thanks
Phys.Org News Partner Physics news on Phys.org
Mapping the optimal route between two quantum states
Spin-based electronics: New material successfully tested
Verifying the future of quantum computing
russ_watters
May18-04, 09:57 PM
Mentor
P: 22,244
Quote Quote by Mark
Hello, I am a student in high schoool, and everywhere i look i see the obvious implications that light travels as a wave. I mean

-Rectilinear Propogation
-Refraction
-Reflection
-Diffraction

etc. all seem to point to wave theory, but what do the particle people say about these things..

just looking for a second opinion,

thanks
Reflection and refraction are particle phenomena. The particle model is very much alive and well - in its domain of applicability: light is now well accepted to have a wave/particle duality.
quartodeciman
May18-04, 10:18 PM
P: 383