How to figure the tension on a pole used for a zip line?

In summary: This is particularly important for a zip line, as any deviation from this can cause the line to become unbalanced and unstable. In summary, the tension on each pole will be dependent on the sag that you can tolerate, the material of the pole, and the distance and grade of the cable.
oneelios
I am looking all over to try and find out how to figure out the tension that would be on each of the poles used for a zip line I am trying to build in my back yard. I would like to build it so that it can support a 300lbs person. I am not very good with math so if someone would be willing to help me out with an equation that is for the simple minded it would be very helpful. Thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
oneelios: We need the (x, y, z) coordinates of all cable end points, the diameter and material of all cables, and the pole height, diameter, wall thickness, and material. Also state the initial sag (vertical distance at midpoint) in the transport cable.

The cable is 5/16 I think-about the thickness of a standard pen. It will be about 90 feet long. I don't have it up yet because I need to know what tension will be on the poles before I decide how to build it. I am estimating roughly 10 feet high on one end and around 8 on the other. It will only be two poles. I would like as little sag as possible but won't know until I install it. Thanks for your response.

The poles will be under tremendous stress unless you have, e.g., guy wires. We need the coordinates of all guy wire end points. What is the cable material? And what pole material do you envision?