UV and irradiance

by hopeariipus
Tags: irradiance
hopeariipus
Aug13-09, 03:52 PM
P: 1
Dear forum members,

I would like to ask some help regarding irradiance calculation. I am a high school student doing a project in biology in which I expose drosophila m. (fruit flies) to UVA radiation and I would like to mention in my paper the actual dose that was used.

I know that... UV dose (J/m^2) = W/m^2 x s

W/m^2 refers to irradiance, this is the formula that I found for calculating it:

E= dΦ / d Ad

1. Ad is the area which is exposed to the radiation.
What does the d in front of Ad stand for?

dΦ = E0 cosθ d Ad

So, the formula above is the radiation intensity (W)...

2. E0 is the irradiance of light incident upon material, how do I calculate that?

From here I found the information: http://metrology.hut.fi/courses/S-10...ADIOMETRIA.pdf (on the 5th page)

Lamp:

Original Philips UVA
Type HP3147/A
220V ~ 50 Hz 75W

Thank you for any advice and help!
Phys.Org News Partner Physics news on Phys.org
Information storage for the next generation of plastic computers
Scientists capture ultrafast snapshots of light-driven superconductivity
Progress in the fight against quantum dissipation
Lok
Aug13-09, 08:56 PM
P: 406
W/m2 means energy over a certain surface ( which in the case of a fruit fly is less than 1.5 mm2 )

Energy is computed by power and distance ( from source to target) with the illusive reflectivity taking it's tole.
Andy Resnick
Aug15-09, 10:20 AM
Sci Advisor
P: 5,468
Quote Quote by hopeariipus View Post
<snip>

I know that... UV dose (J/m^2) = W/m^2 x s

W/m^2 refers to irradiance, this is the formula that I found for calculating it:

E= dΦ / d Ad

1. Ad is the area which is exposed to the radiation.
What does the d in front of Ad stand for?

dΦ = E0 cosθ d Ad