Active Noise Control Stereo?

by T.O.E Dream
Tags: active, control, noise, stereo
T.O.E Dream
Nov20-09, 04:36 PM
P: 218
I want to create an active noise stereo which works like the headphones except it's a big speaker. I need your help on how i would go about doing this? I ain't no electrical engineer or anything, in fact I have no knowledge whatsoever so try to help me using simple terms.
Phys.Org News Partner Engineering news on Phys.org
SensaBubble: It's a bubble, but not as we know it (w/ video)
WSU innovation improves drowsy driver detection
Faster computation of electromagnetic interference on an electronic circuit board
berkeman
Nov20-09, 04:50 PM
Mentor
P: 39,708
Quote Quote by T.O.E Dream View Post
I want to create an active noise stereo which works like the headphones except it's a big speaker. I need your help on how i would go about doing this? I ain't no electrical engineer or anything, in fact I have no knowledge whatsoever so try to help me using simple terms.
Have you been through the intro page at wikipedia, and followed some of the links at the end of the article?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Active_noise_cancellation

T.O.E Dream
Nov20-09, 07:40 PM
P: 218
A question about active noise control. Does there need to be a specific angle at which the speakers must be at with the sound source?

berkeman
Nov20-09, 10:37 PM
Mentor
P: 39,708

Active Noise Control Stereo?

Quote Quote by T.O.E Dream View Post
A question about active noise control. Does there need to be a specific angle at which the speakers must be at with the sound source?
Yes, I believe that placement of both the noise source, the noise cancelling speaker(s) and the listener(s) are important. Can you tell us why that would be? BTW, do you know the speed of sound in air? And what is the normal range of frequencies of audio sounds that we hear? What are the corresponding wavelengths of sound in air? (Quiz questions for you)
brass_player
Feb20-10, 01:14 AM
P: 1