What should I do during winter break?

by ephedyn
Tags: winter
ephedyn
Oct19-10, 08:57 AM
P: 171
I live on the opposite side of the globe from where I'm studying. So I figured I'd save about $2500 of air travel if I stayed for winter break - that's a lot!

However, the dorms at my school are closing during the winter. I'd really love to find something meaningful to do during the winter break while having some lodging to go along with it. I've managed to chart the AMS Joint Mathematics Meeting (6-9 Jan, New Orleans) on my schedule, good, but that's only half a week solved.

What do you do during the academic winter breaks? Is there something you'd suggest to me?
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Simplicity is key to co-operative robots
Chemical vapor deposition used to grow atomic layer materials on top of each other
Earliest ancestor of land herbivores discovered
General_Sax
Oct19-10, 11:11 AM
P: 450
Do drugs.
l'H˘pital
Oct19-10, 11:16 AM
P: 256
Read some books for your classes next semester. Nothing too hard course, but just so you know what you'll learn and get a cursory glance at it.

JesseC
Oct19-10, 11:48 AM
P: 281

What should I do during winter break?

Make friends with the locals? :)
missfangula
Oct19-10, 12:06 PM
P: 32
Sleep.
Dembadon
Oct19-10, 12:30 PM
PF Gold
P: 638
In addition to preparing for next semester, try to get out and do something fun. My wife and I are going to Disneyland in December (hopefully it won't rain!). Preparing for next semester is fine, but make sure your break is, in fact, a break.

New Orleans has an excellent music scene. There's sure to be something that will suit your interest. Personally, I'd really enjoy hitting up some "hole-in-the-wall" on a night with live jazz/blues artists scheduled for entertainment.