Good time to buy US dollars?
Good time to hide, IMO.
NobodySpecial
Nov5-10, 05:42 PM
P: 474
Quote Quote by rootX View Post
Or a good time to sell them !

I'm only a humble physicist but can someone explain how it's good for a country to borrow $500Bn on top of $1.7Tn and hand it out to the people, who are going to have to pay it back one day, so that they can boost demand. Yet it's irresponsible to just give everyone a credit card with a $10,000 limit and tell them to enjoy themselves.

Ivan Seeking
Nov5-10, 07:32 PM
Emeritus
Sci Advisor
PF Gold
P: 12,498
$600bn into the US economy

Quote Quote by NobodySpecial View Post

I'm only a humble physicist but can someone explain how it's good for a country to borrow $500Bn on top of $1.7Tn and hand it out to the people, who are going to have to pay it back one day, so that they can boost demand.
Yes, this isn't a math equation. It is a matter of momentum.

No stimulus program can buy our way out of a recession. Everyone knows that.

By your logic, no business would ever invest in itself.
mugaliens
Nov14-10, 09:56 PM
P: 595

I'm only a humble physicist but can someone explain how it's good for a country to borrow $500Bn on top of $1.7Tn and hand it out to the people, who are going to have to pay it back one day, so that they can boost demand. Yet it's irresponsible to just give everyone a credit card with a $10,000 limit and tell them to enjoy themselves.
It's not. At all. Why folks continue to pour lead into the anchor of debt that's capsizing the ship is beyond everything I learned of economics.
talk2glenn
Nov15-10, 02:59 AM
P: 113
Quote Quote by rootX View Post
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-11678022