Tags: 2form, dissipative, systems
Share this thread:
homology
Feb22-11, 01:46 PM
P: 307
Suppose you have a dissipative system where

[tex] \dot{q}=p/m [/tex]

[tex] \dot{p}=-\gamma p -k\sin(q) [/tex]

So there isn't a Hamiltonian for this system and Louiville's theorem doesn't hold. But the equations of motion still give us a vector field on phase space and we can still take the Lie derivative of [tex] \omega = dp\wedge dq [/tex] along it.

If I do that I get [tex] L_X \omega = -\gamma dp\wedge dq [/tex] (let me know if you want to see the details, I'm omitting them here to keep things brief) where X is the dynamical vector field. I'm still new to the geometric understanding of mechanics and so the above 'looks' like a differential equation, but I'm not sure what to make of this? I suppose I'd like to see how to use this to interpret [tex] \omega [/tex] as a function of time, but I'm stuck.

Any ideas are welcome.
Phys.Org News Partner Physics news on Phys.org
Vibrational motion of a single molecule measured in real time
Researchers demonstrate ultra low-field nuclear magnetic resonance using Earth's magnetic field
Bubbling down: Discovery suggests surprising uses for common bubbles
C. H. Fleming
Feb22-11, 03:25 PM
P: 31
For this simple dissipation your Liouville operator is:

[tex]\boldsymbol{\mathcal{L}} = -\frac{p}{m} \frac{\partial}{\partial q} +k \sin(q) \frac{\partial}{\partial p} + \gamma \frac{\partial}{\partial p} p[/tex]

and so in addition to the dissipative force [tex]\gamma p \frac{\partial}{\partial p}[/tex], you have the probability preserving term [tex]\gamma[/tex]. Instead of Liouville's theorem you can apply its generalization: the method of characteristic curves.