Register to reply

Is gravity a bigger mystery than charge?

by manulal
Tags: charge, gravity, mechanism
Share this thread:
manulal
Mar27-11, 06:42 AM
P: 15
Dear Friends,

I am presently studying physics on my own. (Not for a degree but just out of curiosity)

My question is, both gravity and charge being fundamental forces, is science more comfortable in explaining one of them compared to other?

I see some threads here wondering what exactly the mechanism of gravity is. I too wonder about that.

But I did not see any one asking the same about electric charge. Does it mean that science has a better understanding about the mechanism of charge?

To me, both are equally mysterious.
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Hoverbike drone project for air transport takes off
Earlier Stone Age artifacts found in Northern Cape of South Africa
Study reveals new characteristics of complex oxide surfaces
Drakkith
Mar27-11, 06:57 AM
Mentor
P: 11,501
We have physical objects which are the source of the electric charges, and we know that all mass has gravity, but I would say that gravity is a little more mysterious than charge is.
mathman
Mar27-11, 05:22 PM
Sci Advisor
P: 6,031
Electromagnetic force is mediated by photons. The theory (quantum electrodynamics) has been thoroughly worked out.

Gravity on the other hand is a classical theory, using General Relativity. There is a general belief that it should be a quantum theory, with gravitons as the mediator, but so far gravitons have not been detected.

russ_watters
Mar27-11, 05:44 PM
Mentor
P: 22,234
Is gravity a bigger mystery than charge?

Quote Quote by manulal View Post
Dear Friends,

I am presently studying physics on my own. (Not for a degree but just out of curiosity)

My question is, both gravity and charge being fundamental forces, is science more comfortable in explaining one of them compared to other?

I see some threads here wondering what exactly the mechanism of gravity is. I too wonder about that.