spacing between three dimentional lattice planes

by abhaymv
Tags: crystallography, reciprocal lattice
abhaymv
Apr10-11, 07:58 AM
P: 9
What, exactly,does spacing between three dimentional lattice planes mean?Does it refer to the formula

d=2*pi/(translation vector)?

*I am an engineering undergraduate and this word is in my syllabus in topic crystallography.I was wondering what it meant?

Also, can someone tell me in simple words what reciprocal lattice means?When I go to wikipedia they go complicated including vectors.But I dont think it is needed in my study.
Phys.Org News Partner Physics news on Phys.org
Global scientific team 'visualizes' a new crystallization process (w/ video)
Modification of structural composite materials to create tailored lenses
Novel technique opens door to better solar cells
johng23
Apr13-11, 10:59 PM
P: 292
You probably already know some of this but I'll just lay it out so it's clear what we're talking about.

A crystal can be described as a basis of atoms, repeated on each point of an infinite mathematical lattice. The simplest 3-D lattice would be a cubic array (repeated through all of space), and the simplest basis would be a single atom. In crystallography we generally want to use this framework not to describe points in a crystal, but directions or planes.

So we can use this formalism to describe a plane hkl in a crystal, but it's not a single plane, it's an entire set of parallel planes with a specific orientation with respect to the crystal. And each plane in this set will be separated from the next by a perpendicular distance which is characteristic of that set of planes. That's the spacing you are asking about.