Why the plane of the rings is vertical to the rotation axis of Saturn?

by Chris2MIT
Tags: acceration, rings, saturn
Chris2MIT
May11-11, 08:10 PM
P: 5
I don't think this is a coincidence, because the orbits of the 8 planets in our Solar System is roughly in a plane, and some galaxies are like a plate, so does the accretion plane of the black hole. But as we know, satellites rotating around the earth can go in the orbit whose rotation axis is not coincide to that of the earth. So why couldn't the rings tilted at an angle to the rotation axis of Saturn?

Therefore, I guess that: Is the phenomenon of Saturn's rings indicates that suppose we do nothing to the earth's satellites, they will all end up rotating earth in a plane vertical to the rotation axis of earth?

P.S.:
Now I can understand and imagine why the ring appears like a plant instead of some other shape, but this problem remains to be solved.

I am a Chinese student, and I don't know if I had described my questions clearly. It would be great if you can also offer some suggestions about my English.

And finally, thank you very much.
Phys.Org News Partner Astronomy news on Phys.org
A star's early chemistry shapes life-friendly atmospheres
Unique pair of supermassive black holes in an ordinary galaxy discovered
Red stars and big bulges: How black holes shape galaxies
Chronos
May11-11, 09:20 PM
Sci Advisor
PF Gold
P: 9,185
Planets are believed to form from accretion discs. The obvious explanation is the source material of rings originated in these accretion discs.
Chris2MIT
May11-11, 09:37 PM
Quote Quote by Chronos View Post
Planets are believed to form from accretion discs. The obvious explanation is the source material of rings originated in these accretion discs.
That's true. Rings and accretions are sure to form. But what I wanna know is that why the plane is vertical to the rotation axis? Can it not be vertical?

twofish-quant
May11-11, 09:40 PM
P: 6,863

Quote Quote by Chris2MIT View Post