Re: Why are transistor input and output impedances important?

In summary, impedance plays an important role in the amplification process of transistor circuits. In the emitter follower configuration, low output impedance is beneficial for high voltage gain, while high input impedance is preferred for voltage gain in general. This is because impedance matching and signal loss are crucial in ensuring efficient signal transfer between components. Additionally, different transistor configurations, such as common emitter and common collector, have their own unique characteristics and applications.
Evilinside
I'm currently studying transistor amplifiers and It is not entirely clear how impedance relates to amplification. For the emitter follower configuration, the book I'm reading implies that low output impedance means high voltage gain and, for any amplifier in general, high input impedance is good for voltage gain though I'm not sure why. Can anyone please explain why this is the case?

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Evilinside said:
I'm currently studying transistor amplifiers and It is not entirely clear how impedance relates to amplification. For the emitter follower configuration, the book I'm reading implies that low output impedance means high voltage gain and, for any amplifier in general, high input impedance is good for voltage gain though I'm not sure why. Can anyone please explain why this is the case?

I don't think there is any particular important relation between impedance and voltage gain. It is not that emitter follower has high voltage gain. In fact the voltage gain of a follower is very close to one only. Straightly speaking, it is slightly less than one. It just transform the output signal to a low impedance output so it is better to drive a load. It is usually used to buffer a high impedance source.