PhD? Was it worth it for you?

by armis
Tags: None
Share this thread:
armis
Jan3-12, 12:56 PM
P: 103
Greetings

I have a dilemma, hopefully some of you can help. And yes I did research a lot about this on google but I think a new discussion is more helpful.

Where did you get your PhD in? Was it worth it? What are the options outside academia?

I have an opportunity to get a PhD position in organic photovoltaics. The salary is great, the group also. From research point of you it's excellent. And I also have experience working in the field since I have been working for 2 years now in an another university. I am currently finishing my master's degree.
What I am wondering though are career prospects after PhD. And I am not entirely sure I want to stay in academia. I do like the field of organic electronics though.

Thanks a lot
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Climate change increases risk of crop slowdown in next 20 years
Researcher part of team studying ways to better predict intensity of hurricanes
New molecule puts scientists a step closer to understanding hydrogen storage
twofish-quant
Jan3-12, 10:25 PM
P: 6,863
Quote Quote by armis View Post
Where did you get your PhD in?
Computational astrophysics.

Was it worth it?
Hell yes.

What are the options outside academia?
This board has many of them. It's a tricky question because often you'll be working on something that didn't exist when you start your Ph.D., which is cool.
armis
Jan4-12, 04:45 AM
Thank you twofish-quant

When you just started a PhD where you aware of your possibilities after finishing it outside academia?
Also since you did a lot of programming your experience might be easily transferred elsewhere, is that correct? I mean even outside the realm of physics.

twofish-quant
Jan4-12, 09:51 AM
P: 6,863
PhD? Was it worth it for you?

When you just started a PhD where you aware of your possibilities after finishing it outside academia?