Bio-statistics, Poisson distribution

In summary, the conversation discusses a problem in Bio-statistics involving the probability of infants developing otitis media in the first year of life. The textbook provided answers, but the speaker could not replicate them. The first question involves calculating the probability of an infant developing otitis media by the 9th month given no episodes were observed by the end of the 3rd month. The second question involves determining the proportion of five-sibling families that are otitis-prone. The speaker attempted to solve the problems using different methods but the results did not match the textbook's answers. Suggestions were given for alternative approaches.
Yoha
I'm studying Bio-statistics and I came across this problem from the textbook.It's actually answered on the back of the book, but I couldn't really get the same numbers.

i Desease-free infants at the end of month i
0 2500
1 2425
2 2375
3 2300
4 2180
5 2000
6 1875
7 1700
8 1500
9 1300
10 1250
11 1225
12 1200

I computed infant will have 1 or more episodes of otitis media by the end of 6th month and first year of life
P(6 months) =0.25
P(year)=.52

There are two questions that I couldn’t get the same result as the book said.

a- What is the probability that an infant will have one or more episodes of otitis by the en of 9th month given that no episodes have been observed by the end of the 3rd month?

b- Suppose an otitis –prone family is defined as one in which at least 3 siblings of 5 develop otitis in the first 6 monthof life. What a proportion of five-sibling family is otitis prone if we assume the disease occur independently for different siblings in a family?

My answers:
a- If we consider there was no observed until the third month, we have 6 months of observations.
P(9th)=.52 and p(4th)=.872
I tried to to answer , but it wasn’t the same as the book answer (Book answer is .435

b- We have 3 in 5 which is equal .6