How to make use of Proffs.

by heman
Tags: proffs
heman
Feb12-05, 04:56 AM
P: 355
Well i am a student of first year but i never make judicious use of Proffs around and i am also not pretty sure how the Proffs. which do research and teach can be useful and how we can go to them and make them help us...How to reduce this gap //Pls help me....Thx in advance.
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
SensaBubble: It's a bubble, but not as we know it (w/ video)
The hemihelix: Scientists discover a new shape using rubber bands (w/ video)
Microbes provide insights into evolution of human language
matt grime
Feb12-05, 10:56 AM
Sci Advisor
HW Helper
P: 9,398
Everyone likes to explain maths they understand to someone who doesn't get it, so don't be afraid to talk to them. But it will maximize your benefit and minimize their annoyance if you actually go with specific issues in mind and demonstrate that you've actually tried to think about the question. Let's take a common calc query:

No one likes a student who turns up and simply says "I don't understand what a limit is", and who, upon being asked what it means to say x_n tends to x receives the answer of "I don't know". Know the definition (we can't help your memory) and also have an example in mind where you can't show x_n tends to x.

So, go with a well-thought-out query, and try and avoid questions which essentially paint you as not having tried hard enough to understand, which sadly happens far too often.

Good example of a question I had yesterday: I'm not sure I get row reduction. I know what I want to end up with, but when I try it I just go round in circles.
Why is this good? It is explicit, shows they know where they're going wrong, and I was able to show them an algorithm to do it (the lecturer had paid more time to theoretical meaning of row reduction).