Register to reply

PhoneSat launching today!

by Greg Bernhardt
Tags: launching, phonesat
Share this thread:
Greg Bernhardt
#1
Apr17-13, 10:22 AM
Admin
Greg Bernhardt's Avatar
P: 9,311
PhoneSat is a nanosatellite, categorizing the mass as between one and ten kilograms. Additionally, PhoneSat is a 1U CubeSat, having a volume of around one liter. The PhoneSat Project strives to decrease the cost of satellites while not sacrificing performance. In an effort to achieve this goal, the project is based around Commercial Off-The-Shelf (COTS) electronics to provide functionality for as many parts as possible while still creating a reliable satellite. Two copies of PhoneSat 1.0 are being launched mid April 2013 along with an early prototype of PhoneSat 2.0 referred to as PhoneSat 2.0.beta.
http://www.phonesat.org
Phys.Org News Partner Astronomy news on Phys.org
Comet Jacques makes a 'questionable' appearance
Image: Our flocculent neighbour, the spiral galaxy M33
Image: Chandra's view of the Tycho Supernova remnant
mfb
#2
Apr17-13, 11:38 AM
Mentor
P: 11,589
Together with the maiden flight of Antares. NASA has a livestream of the launch :).
5 pm EDT, 21:00 GMT, 23:00 CEST

Edit: Launch was aborted, they might try it again on Friday.


Register to reply

Related Discussions
Rocket Launching Advanced Physics Homework 1
Launching a balloon Classical Physics 8
Launching a rocket Introductory Physics Homework 4
Ship launching Mechanical Engineering 5
Launching a UAV... Mechanical Engineering 4