New method of cutting grass? -looking to nature for answer

by taylaron
Tags: cutting, grass, method, nature
taylaron
Apr21-13, 12:49 AM
PF Gold
P: 381
Hey PF,
I'm looking for a new way to cut the grass on my lawn and i'm looking to nature for inspiration. I'm an engineer, not a biologist and I could use your help with naming creatures or mechanisms that are used to cut grass, flesh, bark, etc...

I've come up with the following good suggestions:
  1. Leaf-cutting ants*
  2. Crab claws
  3. Deer & goat teeth
  4. beaver teeth

Can anybody think of microscopic organisms that cut things?

Thanks in advance
Phys.Org News Partner Biology news on Phys.org
Campaigners say protected birds in danger in Malta
WWF condemns oil search in Africa's oldest national park
Genome yields insights into golden eagle vision, smell
berkeman
Apr21-13, 12:54 AM
Mentor
P: 39,723
The parks around here use sheep...
Simon Bridge
Apr21-13, 12:59 AM
Homework
Sci Advisor
HW Helper
Thanks ∞
PF Gold
P: 11,121
add slow-growing grass:
http://money.cnn.com/2011/07/07/smal...rass/index.htm

Evo
Apr21-13, 01:08 AM
Mentor
P: 25,967

New method of cutting grass? -looking to nature for answer

Depending on rules in your neighborhood, ground covers such as ivy and moss are a solution.

I've also heard of people planting endangered prairie grass and putting up a sign that their lawn is a protected site. I see it planted in a lot of places around here, ugly as heck, but it's not actually protected in your yard AFAIK.
Integral
Apr21-13, 08:59 PM
Mentor
P: 7,292
Put down a cement slab, paint it green.
taylaron
Apr21-13, 09:03 PM
PF Gold
Thank you for your suggestions, but I don't want to replace my lawn. I'm looking for creatures or organisms that have evolved to cut objects in an efficient manner. I want to build a robotic lawnmower that emulates the technology in its cutting mechanism.

Thanks.
Greg Bernhardt
Apr21-13, 09:17 PM
Admin
P: 8,542
South America uses goats and sheep
Simon Bridge
Apr21-13, 10:47 PM