Where Should I Start In Designing A 3D Printer?

by VarietyBook
Tags: 3d printing, building, designing, doityourself, printer, start
VarietyBook
Oct3-13, 06:32 PM
P: 9
I would like to design a 3D printer. I know that sounds very ambitious (and probably stupidly unrealistic), but I'm not talking about the fanciest things on the market (like glass/metal printers). I just want to design a printer that can print to a great resolution and in mixtures of 3 primary colors (multicolor models) with plastic. I don't want to go with the vanilla Rep-Rap printer (an "open source" 3D printer) because:

A) I don't have access to all of the specialized plastic parts.
B) The Rep-Rap is designed to print one color at a low resolution.

I am not well-versed in 3D printing (I have never even used one). I have no experience in mechanical engineering or in 3D printing, but I have experience in computer programming and CAD. I know building a precision machine isn't programming, but I do feel like I can learn effectively by myself. After all, I think I taught myself way more than what a first-year computer science student would learn, and this all by my lonesome in approximately 1.5 years.

All fluff aside, do you think it is even worth my time to start this project, or do you think that I won't get anywhere. My design would be heavily based off of the Rep-Rap, but with major changes to allow for high-resolution multicolor printing.

Should I make this my new project and start pouring weekends into it, or do you think it is a waste of time?

P.S: I might not have used a printer, but over the past few months I have been studying 3D printing heavily. I believe the sentences about "not well versed in 3D printing" are at least somewhat misleading.
Phys.Org News Partner Engineering news on Phys.org
Lifting the brakes on fuel efficiency
PsiKick's batteryless sensors poised for coming 'Internet of things'
Researcher launches successful tech start-up to help the blind
Simon Bridge